Cleveland is Better Than You Think….


Yeah, that’s right. I went to Cleveland for vacation this year. And yes, I went there on purpose.

The main attraction of my trip was to see the incredible ROCK AND ROLL HALL OF FAME! Oh, the thrill of being inches away from shirts worn by Elvis, stage costumes worn by Mick Jagger, and hand-painted pictures created by a young Jimi Hendrix. I spent a good five hours pressing my face up against the glass that separated me from incredible remains of rock and roll history. However, they don’t allow pictures inside the Rock Hall! It was a tradgedy…here I am, inches away from Steven Tyler’s hand-written lyrics for “Walk This Way”, and you’re telling me I can’t take a picture, even without flash? The horror! So, in place of taking pictures, I had to buy a $30 book instead.

 

The Rock Hall

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame from a Distance

 

Of course, about 15 minutes of those 5 hours was me standing in awe  in front of the stage outfits worn by Steven Tyler and Joe Perry of Aerosmith. Just standing there…jumping in excitement occasionally…..but mostly me staring in amazement. But seeing Aerosmith memorabilia is nothing new to me. Why, I’ve gazed upon Steven Tyler’s gorgeous striped jumpsuit many times at the Hard Rock Cafe in Boston, not to mention all the pictures I’ve taken next to it. I am, after all, one of the world’s biggest Aerosmith fans. Anyway, my point is that I’ve seen tons of Aerosmith stuff…so the real show-stopper was the section about Jim Morrison of the Doors.

If you know anything about the Doors, you know that their lead singer, Jim Morrison, was quite the dark person. Who else could come up with the morose lyrics and creepy tune to a song like “Alabama Song (Whiskey Bar)?” He was a real, walking, work of art until he died at age 27 in 1971. The section of the Rock Hall about him had more than clothes he wore…it contained some pictures he drew as a child, his old report cards, and even cards he had written to his parents. One of the items was a Christmas card that said “Have a Cool Yule,” which I previously considered to be the lamest phrase ever (now I can’t wait to use it all December long).  It was incredible to see his work as young child…before he had turned into the dark, twisted person he was known as (RIP Jim, I love your work forever)….

Another cool part of the museum was the “Women Who Rock” exhibit. This temporary part of the museum had stage costumes from almost every famous woman in music history, from Janis Joplin to Lady Gaga. A few must-see parts of this exhibit were outfits worn by Grace Slick (of Jefferson Airplane),  Madonna, Nancy and Ann Williams (of Heart) and of course my favorite, Lady Gaga’s outfits from the 2010 Grammy Awards and a re-creation of her meat dress.

What can I say? I was an incredible five hours of rock and roll history. The next evening, I went to free concert outside the Rock Hall to see Fitz and the Tantrums…a band my mom and I love. I got there two hours early…and it paid off! I was at the very base of the stage, within touching distance of the band’s handsome lead singer Fitz. I spent the next two hours jamming to their unique retro-soul vibe, and afterwards I even got to meet all of the band members and take pictures with them (including gorgeous Fitz :-). The best part, however, was receiving one a set list for that evening’s show – and they only gave out two. I had every band member sign it…maybe it will hang in the Rock Hall someday!

Fitz and the Tantrums

Fitz and the Tantrums at the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

More to come about Cleveland…..what do you say?

Leave a Reply

