You’ve got to be kidding me! Gucci’s ostrich and raccon tail shoulder bag


Um, aren’t there laws against using animal fur in clothing now? Isn’t that why you never see mink coats and scarves anymore? If so, then can someone please explain to me this ostrich and raccoon tail purse by Gucci? I’m a little befuddled by this combination of animals. What does a big, scary bird have anything to do with something that goes through your trash at night? I’m not seeing the connection here……

Smilia Small Ostrich Shoulder Bag.......$2750.00. From Saks Fifth Avenue Website

Regardless, I’m a little creeped  out at the thought of having an animal’s tail dangling from my purse. I tried on my great grandmother’s mink scarf once and I nearly crawled out of my skin from having little baby minks draped around my throat. I’d call it animal cruelty, but I’d be a hippocrite because I love my vintage leather jackets from 1979.

If you just have to spend $2750.00 on a purse, why don’t you just do youself a favor and buy…….well I can’t really suggest anything that expensive because they ALL have some time of animal fur/skin on them. For the love of your wallet (um, and the animals), just buy a Marc Jacobs Totally Turnlock Flap Wallet ($129.99). It’s classic white, has a Marc Jacobs emblem on the turnlock and….contains no trace of snake skin, crocodile skin, leather, or raccoon tails. Finally!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ohsunshine2011
    Aug 12, 2011 @ 12:35:16

    I am not sure if you are aware but Burberry uses real animals in their clothing too. Mostly their fur products.

    Reply

    • bettymarshall
      Aug 13, 2011 @ 11:04:52

      I didn’t know that but I am not surprised…when I was looking for a “animal-friendly” purse on saksfifthavenue.com I had the hardest time because it seems like EVERYTHING uses leather or snake/crocodile skin.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

