I Love the Jersey Boys….. and I don’t mean the Situation (or Vinny, or DJ Pauly D)


No, when I say that I love Jersey Boys, I have no intention of referencing the popular MTV show Jersey Shore.  I’m talking about the Tony-award-winning musical – those Jersey boys. Last month, while I was vacationing in Cleveland (mainly to see the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame) I saw Jersey Boys on a Thursday night. And for a weekday, the house was pretty full. If that isn’t a good reflection of the musical, I’m not sure what is.

I saw Jersey Boys at the State Theater in Cleveland (1519 Euclid Ave). The theater was absolutely gorgeous, with architecture that would make any art aficionado drool. The old-fashioned look of the interior calls to mind images of the Boston Opera House at home, where I’ve seen Wicked. I got the tickets kind of last-minute, so I was up in balcony, which might have been a problem if there hadn’t been such a marvelous view of the entire theater. Sadly, I couldn’t tae pictures inside the actual theater, but I did manage to take a few pics of the foyer.

Theater
The State Theatre In Cleveland, Ohio

Anyway, back to the actual musical. It was fabulous. A  throwback story of Frankie Valli & The Four Seasons, it rings out the ups and downs of the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductees that blossomed as rock was taking its shape.  Covering hits from “Sherry” to “My Eyes Adored You” and “Can’t Take My Eyes Off You”, the cast  not only keeps the songs true to their original version, but they actually sound just like the original band. It’s a little freaky – but in a good way. A very good way. The play even goes as far as using (as their website puts it) “authentic Jersey language.” Trust me, there’s no shortage of cuss words in the production, but at least they have a good excuse. 🙂

Leave a Reply

